nekotea’s Step-by-Step Guide to Inking, Colouring and Editing

Sketch

So, I’ve been suggested to make a step-by-step guide on my drawings. I know that most of you probably don’t draw, but I find it interesting to see how different artists go about their work.

Inking and Colouring

Inking

I started inking in my sketch using FABER-CASTELL, PITT artist pen XS. It was actually my first time using XS since I only bought it on the 12th.

Inking 2
Inking 3

Finished inking and rubbed out the pencil lines.

Inking 4

Starting re-inking with FABER-CASTELL, PITT artist pen S to make the image stand out more. Also, you may find that rubbing out the sketch can make your lines lighter.

Inking 5
Colouring

Finishing re-inking and started colouring in. It’s recommended that you start from the skin (but I usually start wherever I like).

Colouring 2

Finishing colouring the first layer. The second layer is basically shading, which gives your picture more depth. I sometimes use around four layers just for the eyes, but for this picture, it was only three.

Colouring 3

And that’s it for colouring.

Equipment

Equipment I used:
> Letraset flexMARKER – Pebble Blue
> Letraset flexMARKER – Tea Rose
> Letraset ProMARKER – Blush
> Letraset ProMARKER – Cardinal Red
> Letraset ProMARKER – Grass
> FABER-CASTELL, PITT artist pen XS
> FABER-CASTELL, PITT artist pen S

Bleedproof Marker Pad

In this guide, I used normal printer paper but it’s recommended that you use Letraset’s Bleedproof Marker Pad since your markers will bleed (more about that later). I don’t normally like to use it since rubbing out too much can wear out the paper.

Editing

Scanning Settings

I scanned the picture into Paint using these settings. The key is to experiment with the contrast level to see which setting matches the actual colours more.

Rotate
Rotate 2
Rotate 3

Opened the picture in GIMP and noticed that it was slightly tilted to the right. Used to Rotate Tool to readjust and added a New Layer behind it.

Erase
Erase 2

Clone
Clone 2

Zoomed in and looked around the picture to see where editing needed to be done. Generally used Erase for the white parts, and the Clone Tool for things that weren’t white.

Zettai Ryouiki
Bleeding

If you look at the 2nd image, you can see that the red goes out of the inked line. This is called ‘bleeding’. It’s simple to fix by using the Erase Tool, or just by using the marker pad I mentioned previously.

Sarah Christmas

The full version of the picture can be seen on DeviantART.

And that’s the end of the guide, hope you enjoyed reading as much as I did while drawing.

2 thoughts on “nekotea’s Step-by-Step Guide to Inking, Colouring and Editing

  1. I’m an amature illustrator, I do it entirely for fun, so I always used the cheaper colored pencils over markers. That, and I hated the fact that markers had noxious smells when in use. I had been using Faber-Castell’s india ink black pens for inking for years, so when I decided to finally give markers a shot, I opted for these as I love their ink pens, and already knew that they manufacture quality stuff. I’m glad I did. The quality is great, and I love using them. I like the brush nib as it never frays and is easy to control. The colors are very rich and take on a watercolor-like look, and blend relatively well. I noticed, however, that some colors seem to blend better than others, but it may be a result of me being a novice with the medium. They layer rather well, too, which is something I do often when I color.Also, they give off -zero- smell, meaning you don’t need to worry about vetilating your work space as you use them. Bonus!The only major complaint is that Faber-Castell did not do a good job matching the maker’s color with the color on the pen itself. Most don’t look anything like the shade they do on paper, and I instead decided to make a chart of all the colors and the numbering they are marked with, rather than look at the cases themselves. It works, but may annoy some people.

    • Yeah the Faber-Castell pens doesn’t contain solvents- I’ve only ever used their black ones so I’m not sure on their easiness to blend with other colours. I really only require duller and lighter colours in my work, and Letraset provides this along with a much larger choice of colours. They are quite easy to blend together, even without their Blender marker.

Leave a Reply

