Interview with Confisery

Greetings again from Neko’s Shiritori! We had the wonderful opportunity to interview Confisery from Southern California. Although most artists that we had the wonderful opportunity to meet and interview at conventions were spotted on direct Twitter searches, Confisery had the added value of noticeable referrals, which greatly heightened the desire to meet her personally. Meeting and hanging out with her was more community oriented and definitely fun as she is very personable.


Mind describing what 78% is?
A. 78% is the percentage that you fail on songs for Beatmania IIDX. The passing percentage is 80% so every time someone gets a 78%, it’s usually very frustrating and sad. I decided to name my tumblr this because I get 78% a lot. For most of my blogs, I tend to name it after something I’m interested in.

What got you into art? Drawing cute girls is definitely fun, and it’s very expressive, but it’s always different for different artists.
A. I was interested in art for as long as I can remember. I started drawing anime when I was in 4th grade and kind of grew up with it. Now I’m trying to do semi-realism, but in my spare time I like drawing cute girls. Their anatomy is way more fun to draw than men and there are more clothing options for them! I really like paintings by old masters, fine art, and other things as well.

The first thing that comes to mind is your IIDX passion and the other music games. When did you get into the game and subsequently go further by actively joining the community?
A. IIDX actually wasn’t my first rhythm game; the first arcade game that I put time and effort on was Technika. I had a passion for Technika and I played it almost everyday. When it was clear that Technika wasn’t going to get any more updates near December, I moved onto IIDX. The community itself in SoCal very big; the active players are mostly all my friends. There is an American IIDX group on Facebook for players outside of SoCal and a lot of people post their achievements and such on there. I hope that more people will play IIDX when the new version comes out!

As an artist, what do you like to be best identified as? There’s many different ways to interpret art, and the real value can stem from the hard work and the attitude, but actual descriptions come in many shapes and forms.
A. Art is very hard to define, because everyone has their own meanings for it. There’s art where when people view it, it can invoke a deep meaning or so, or there’s art that just shows very technical ways to creating something. I’ve been attending Art Center and there’s teachers that teach art differently than others. As of right now, personally I think art is something that’s on your mind and you want to convey a message to your audience when drawn. If it tells a clear and unique story, then you have succeeded- I’m still trying to learn how to do that!

You’ve used an array of different tools. Do you generally prefer to draw traditional, digital, or create a different form of art?
A. Digital is usually my tool of pick since I can draw pretty fast on Sai. Traditional artwork has their own perks and only sometimes I would experiment with them. I like to draw anime digitally, but for serious, realistic drawings I like to use it traditional. Experimenting with different media is fun as well!

Do you do freelancing work or projects? How do you find business (or how does business find you)?
A. Sometimes I do. I’m still not very well known on any social media site so sometimes it’s hard for me to find any work. I’ve been using fiverr recently and that’s pretty fun to use. Storenvy is going to be my main store to sell anime products.

For buttons and keychains, do you situate the designs based on the event, what’s popular, or whatever you crave at the time?
A. I like making buttons and keychains for things I really like! I have made some anime buttons for cons, but my real motivation lies in rhythm game products. I don’t currently have a very defined style that I use, so sometimes for sets of buttons or keychains I try to make a theme out of them. There’s always ideas in my head to make more buttons and keychains, I just need to set them into motion.

For finding your table at AX, I actually found it through social media, particularly when several IIDX players have referred your table. Although you have had a tumblr for a good few years now, what are your thoughts on social media and community influencing traffic and positively influencing your sales?
A. I am very thankful that my Twitter friends introduced new people to come to my AX table. It definitely helped a lot since on tumblr or DeviantART there isn’t a lot of diehard fans for rhythm games that I enjoy. Twitter has helped my sales and it was very fun talking to everyone. Previous AX years I was basically a random artist that wasn’t well known so whoever found my table was basically my business. Twitter has been great support to my art and I plan to use Twitter to announce updates for my art as well.

Although minor, you may have quickly noticed as an artist that convention costs are rising, especially for artist tables. There isn’t much that can be done with the cost, but what are your thoughts on this year’s adjustments to artist alley? Specifically the handling of tabling with friends or the shift of location, how does it impact you overall?
A. AX Artist Alley has always been decent for me, though its rising price for tables kind of suck. At other cons Artist Alley tables cost way less than AX, but it’s probably because AX is an industrialized convention. During this year though, before the halls closed at 3pm on the last day, AX staff came around the tables telling us to get ready and be packed by 3. That made some artists mad due to the time being cut, and it’s understandable. I personally wish that AX tables weren’t so expensive since it’s hard to make profits for small artists. AX Artist Alley is a fun experience for me, so I still enjoy doing it.

If you had a chance to see AX 2014’s proposed changes recently, what are your thoughts on it? There was a segment about it inferring requests of table seating with friends actually can lower the priority season, causing countless confusion and unnecessary stress, likely due to the large demand but low supply of tables.
A. AX table management isn’t always the greatest. This year I had some problems getting the table registration working online. For the longest time it was bugged and you couldn’t even register for a table. I was able to snag one during the second batch but it had already inflated. For me personally, I don’t think AX Artist Alley tables are that of in a high demand compared to Fanime, but it’s still a very nice table to secure at such a big convention. I hope the management for AX would get better but sadly I don’t see that happening.

Mind giving a brief breakdown of what can be expected in your new store? I believe you had a storenvy before, is it a reopening of that or will you be featuring products not previously seen before?
A. I plan to make a Storenvy store with rhythm game products featured at AX, as well added new products. I plan to open it up soon so please an eye out!

Anything else you would like people to know about you that isn’t necessarily known?
A. I just want to tell everyone that I appreciate the support for my art and it makes me motivated to keep on making new things to show everything. Thank you guys very much!

I purchased a chibi commission from Confisery. I requested Ran from Aikatsu and here’s what it looks like:
aikatus

We thank Confisery for her time! Please have a look at her shop and wares.

Links: DeviantART // Anipan // Tumblr

Leave a Reply

