MCM London Comic Con May 2014

Nekotea here to report on MCM London Comic Con! Comic Con took place from the afternoon of the 23rd to the 25th of May. It was raining heavily on Saturday morning, but I had decided to go on that day in order to meet up with Anitwitter people and attend a few panels. Getting there was easier than the other times I’ve been since the Docklands Light Railway (DLR) was running without any problems.The DLR is the main form of transport to get to the ExCel Centre, and the section connecting the centre to Central London is almost always under maintenance whenever the convention is going on. As soon as I got off the DLR, the crowd walked up the stairs and joined another large crowd outside the centre (but luckily shielded from the pouring rain). It took a while until the crowd were directed to the right places by the staff. Since I planned on getting a General Entry ticket, I waited for a bit longer inside the centre. The entire queuing process took just a bit longer than an hour, which was reasonable.

IMG_6525

After finding the right halls, I immediately found my way to Tecmo Koei’s booth to buy some Atelier goodies which included a few booklets and the Escha crystal frame! I went to Anime Limited’s stall for a free Patema Inverted poster since they were advertising their Kickstarter and the UK theatrical release. I also looked around other stalls before heading to the Tales Of and Ace Combat Infinity panel (featuring Hideo Baba and Kazutoki Kono), which was hosted by Bandai Namco UK. Even though I didn’t know much about the two series, I was hyped for both games by the end of the panel. They introduced Ace Combat Infinity, spoke a bit on Tales of Hearts R and concentrated on Tales of Xillia 2. Trailers were shown and freebies were won during quizzes about the presentations. There were also a few Tales cosplayers which attended. You can read about Baba’s and Kono’s interviews with MCM Buzz here and here.

IMG_6531

Hideo Baba presenting Tales of Hearts R and Tales of Xillia 2

IMG_6528

Kazutoki Kono presenting Ace Combat Infinity

I met up with Yirba and had lunch then separated ways since he went to meet up with more people while I browsed the stalls since I didn’t have time to before. When I went back to Tecmo Koei’s stall to play the demo of Atelier Rorona Plus, I found they had ran out of booklets but the staff remembered me as the person who bought almost all of their Atelier merchandise! Also visited NIS America’s stall to see which games they had on offer, and played Hyperdimension Neptunia: Producing Perfection. Good Smile Company were back for their second time at Comic Con, selling figures including the limited Nendoroid Madoka Kaname Maiko version.

IMG_6539

I later met up with Yirba again at the Manga UK panel where they announced a few titles and had an entertaining Q&A session; these have been summarised by UK Anime. The day ended with us taking a final look at all the stores until closing time. Overall, this London Comic Con was fun and I hope to attend next year as well. It has been reported that the attendee number exceeded 100,000; the highest it’s ever been. I look forward to what they have to offer for the next convention in October.

Leave a Reply

